Housemartins, así eramos los jóvenes de los 80


Después de escribir una entrada “seria” creo que es saludable pasar a temáticas “soft”. De ahí el contraste de pasar de escribir de temas espiritual-transcendente-médico (o pseudo-médico si lo preferís) a hablaros las músicas que enmarcaron mi vida emocional. Ahora le tocan a los housemartins.

Al oírlos me doy cuenta de que quizá un poco estaba equivocada. Hasta ahora pensaba que la composición musical es terreno para todas las edades y que es injusto que sólo los jóvenes tengan hueco a la hora de ser difundidos y conocidos. Por un lado sigo creyendo que es así. Pero música como esta, sólo puede nacer desde un corazón adolescente, sí o sí. No me imagino a alguien quemado por las falsedades sociales produciendo algo tan fresco, tan auténtico, tan limpio.

The Housemartins – Happy Hour

It’s happy hour again
I think I might be happy if I wasn’t out with them
And they’re happy it’s a lovely place to be
Happy that the fire is real the barman is a she
Where the haircuts smile
And the meaning of style
Is a night out with the bass
Where you win or you lose
And it’s them who choose
And if you don’t win then you’ve lost

What a good place to be
Don’t believe it
‘cause they speak a different language
And it’s never really happened to me
{it’s happy hour again}
Don’t believe it
‘cause they speak a different language
And it’s never really happened to me
{it’s happy hour again}

It’s another night out with the boss
Following in footsteps overgrown with moss
And they tell me that women grow on trees
And if you catch them right they will land upon their knees

Where they open all their wallets
And they close all their minds
And they love to buy you all a drink
And then we ask all the questions
And you take all your clothes off
And go back to the kitchen sink

The Housemartins – Bow Down

Mother, Father, I think that I would rather
Stay at home with you for another year
That building’s so tall and it makes me feel so small
That I might get lost and simply disappear
Evil smiles won’t change my mind
I’m worried and I’m not the worrying kind
Why’s that man rubbing his hands
Looking at me writing down his plans?

Today I have been moulding plasticine
and I made a little man who looked just like me
His limbs were so weak and he couldn’t move his mouth to speak
And I could bend him into any shape I wanted him to be

Evil smiles won’t change my mind
I’m worried and I’m not the worrying kind
Why’s that man rubbing his hands
Looking at me writing down his plans?

those kids with the blazers on
They went in with names on their elbows
Came home with medals on
Spit it out that’s the way the story goes

A flying start for the briefcase crew

Oh, you didn’t have to teach me like you did
But you did
And you didn’t have to beat me like you did
But you did
But you did
You did
You did

The Housemartins Caravan Of Love TOTP2

Are you ready are you ready
are you ready are you ready
are you ready for the time of your life
it’s time to stand up and fight
it’s alright it’s alright
hand in hand we take a caravan to the mother land
one by one we gonna stand up with pride
one that can’t be denied
stand up stand up
from the highest mountain, valley low
we’ll join together with hearts of gold
now the children of the world can see
this is a better place for us to be
the place in which we were born
so neglected and torn apart
Every woman every man
join the caravan of love
(stand up) stand up
stand up
everybody take a stand
join the caravan of love
(stand up) stand up
stand up
I’m your brother
i’m your brother don’t you know
she’s my sister
she’s my sister don’t you know
We’ll be living in a world of peace
and the day when everyone is free
we’ll bring the young and the old
won’t you let your love flow, from your heart
Every woman every man
join the caravan of love
(stand up) stand up
stand up
every body take a stand
join the caravan of love
(stand up) stand up
stand up
I’m your brother
i’m your brother don’t you know
she’s my sister
she’s my sister don’t you know
So are you ready ( he’s coming )
are you ready ( he’s coming )
are you ready ( he’s coming )
are you ready ( he’s coming on the caravan )
you better get ready ( go for it )
you better get ready ( go for it )
you better get ready ( go for it )
you better get ready

Me and the farmer – The Housemartins
(Mi favorita, sin duda:)

Me and the farmer get on fine
Through stormy weather and bottles of wine
If I pull my weight he’ll treat me well
But if I’m late he’ll give me hell
And thought it’s all hard work no play
Farmer is a happy crook
Jesus hates him everyday
’cause jesus gave and farmer took
{won’t he let you go? } probably no
{won’t he let you go? } probably no
{why does he treat you so? } I just don’t know
{why does he treat you so? } I just don’t know
Me and the farmer like brother, like sister
Getting on like hand and blister
Me and the farmer
He’s chpped down shppe, planted trees
And helped the countryside to breathe
Ripped up fields, bullied flocks
And workded his workers right around the clock
It may seem strange but he’d admit
Intentions aren’t exactlly true
And through God loves his wife a bit
He hates the farmer through and through
{won’t he let you go? } probably no
{won’t he let you go? } probably no
{why does he treat you so? } I just don’t know
{why does he treat you so? } I just don’t know
Me and the farmer like brother, like sister
Getting on like hand and blister
Me and the farmer
All things bright and beautiful
All creatures gr3eat and small
All we’ve got is london zoo
’cause farmer owns them all

HOUSEMARTINS PEOPLE GRINNED THEMSELVES TO DEATH (Lyrics).wmv

They smiled so much and waved their flags
As she saluted to the military band
Most of the people failed to see
She had a broken bottle in the other hand
And she took them by surprise
When she took them by the throat
And said “my friend you?re not allowed to vote”
But they shook it all off
With a nervous laugh and cough
“next time,” she said “i?ll let those people choke”

The people who grinned themselves to death
Smiled so much they failed to take a breath
And even when their kids were starving
They all thought the queen was charming

She polished all upon the wall
And ran her hands right through her hair
So if the lady took the time to call
All the houses on the street would not compare

And she thought it really funny
That she hadn?t any money
But those she looked up to, they had
But they shook it all off
With a nervous laugh and cough
And when they took her riches it was sad

The people who grinned themselves to death
Smiled so much they failed to take a breath
And even when their kids were starving
They all thought the queen was charming

Housemartins: The People Who Grinned Themselves to Death — Letra de canción | LyricsKeeper http://lyricskeeper.es/es/housemartins/the-people-who-grinned-themselves-to-death.html#ixzz2WOhdJJlm

The Housemartins – Five Get Over Excited

Fun, fun, fun (jeremy)
Me, me, me (fifi)
Take, take, take (jeremy)
Fun, fun, fun
James dean posters on their wall
{five killed in a car-crash}
What a sad little end to it all
{five killed in a car-crash}
Last seen having lots of fun
{five dumped in a river}
Barefoot and on the run
{five dumped in a river}

I am mad from scandinavia
I want a guy in the london area
He must be crazy and sagitarius
‘cause I’m leo and I’m hilarious

Fun, fun, fun (jeremy)
Me, me, me (fifi)
Take, take, take (jeremy)
Fun, fun, fun

Last seen drinking daddy’s own beer
{five poisoned over dinner}
Singing abba’s “mamma mia”
{five poisened over dinner}
Drop dead watching thunderbirds fly
{five get over excited}
Poster on their wall says “why? ”
{five get over excited}

I am guy from camden town
My hair is curly but I gel it down
My clothes are black buyt my bread is brown
I’m really into early motown

Fun, fun, fun (jeremy)
Me, me, me (fifi)
Take, take, take (jeremy)
Fun, fun, fun

Feigning concern, a conservative pastime
Makes you feel doubtful right from the start
The expression she pulls is exactlly like last time
You’ve got to conclude she just hasn’t a heart

The Housemartins – Build

Clambering men in big bad boots
Dug up my den, dug up my roots
Treated us like plasticine town
They built us up and knocked us down
From meccano to legoland
Here they come with a brick in their hand
Men with heads filled up with sand
It’s build

It’s build a house where we can stay
Add a new bit everyday
It’s build a road for us to cross
Build us lots and lots and lots and lots and lots

Whistling men in yellow vans
They can and drew us diagrams
Showed us how it all worked it out
And wrote it down in case of doubt

Slow, slow, quick, quick, quick
It’s wall to wall and brick to brick
They work so fast it makes you sick
It’s build

It’s build a house where we can stay
Add a new bit everyday
It’s build a road for us to cross
Build us lots and lots and lots and lots and lots

It’s build

Down with sticks and up with bricks
In with boots and up with roots
It’s in with suits and new recruits
It’s build

The Housemartins – He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother
UNA LETRA BRUTAL

The road is long
With many a winding turn
That leads us to who knows where
Who knows where
But I’m strong
Strong enough to carry him
He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother

So on we go
His welfare is of my concern
No burden is he to bear
We’ll get there

For I know
He would not encumber me
He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother

If I’m laden at all
THEN I’m laden with sadness
That everyone’s heart
Isn’t filled with the gladness
Of love for one another

It’s a long, long road
From which there is no return
While we’re on the way to there
Why not share

And the load
Doesn’t weigh me down at all
He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother

He’s my brother
He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother

I’ll Be Your Shelter

In times when you’re troubled
Seems more than you can affoard
And you feel, you feel you need a friend
Someone to share the load

And when your skies grow cloudy
I want you to know got a friend that’s true
Just like a shelter, in a time of storm
I’ll see you through, that’s what I’ll do

When your dreams are scattered
Just like the wind blown sand
And you feel, you feel you need a friend
I’ll be there, reach out your hand

And when the tempest is raging
I want you to know got a friend that’s true
Just like a shelter, in a time of storm
I’ll see you through, that’s what I’ll do

I’ll see you through your bad times
I’ll see you through your fears
I’ll see you through your hang ups
Honey I’ll dry all your tears

And when the tempest is raging
I want you to know got a friend that’s true
Just like a shelter, in a time of storm
I’ll see you through, that’s what I’ll do

I will see you through, I will see you through
I will see you through, I will see you through

When my load got heavy, did you see me through
When my load got to hard to bear, did you see me through
What would you do, what would you do
What would you do, what would you do

If you’re living on the dole and there’s no sugar in your bowl
All you need to do is give a little knock
Don’t despair he’ll be there with his loving and his care
Marx will work for us right around the clock

He’s alright, he’s alright
He’s alright, he’s alright

Think For A Minute

There’s something going on, a change is taking place
Children playing in the street are gone without a trace
This street used to be full, it used to make me smile
But now it seems that everybody’s walking single-file

And many hang their heads in shame
That used to hold them high
And those who used to say, “Hello”?
Now simply pass you by

Think for a minute
Stop for a minute
Think (think) for a minute
Stop (stop) for a minute

I always said, “It could”?
They never thought it would
The people look so pitiful
I’m thinking that they should
“?Cause now it’s almost here
Now it’s on its’ way
I can’t help saying, “Told you so
And have a nice final day”?

“?Cause nothing I could say
Could ever make them see the light
And apathy is happy
That it won without a fight

Think for a minute
Stop for a minute
Think (think) for a minute
Stop (stop) for a minute

“?Cause nothing I could say
Could ever make them see the light
And apathy is happy
That it won without a fight

Think for a minute
Stop for a minute
Think (think) for a minute
Stop (stop) for a minute

The Housemartins – The Light Is Always Green 1987

We dig our models with the brains the size of models
And cars that we can trust with out wives
And we dig converstations with girls from every nation
But not the ones that whisper or tell lies

Wherever theres a will theres a motorway
Wherever there is greed there is speed
And theyve always got to be there for yesterday
Welcome to the new scalextrics breed

And the light they always show to them
Is green, green, green
And the heels they always show to me
Are clean, clean, clean

Were only flying past so we dig our sevice fast
From the waiters to the women to the wine
Never mind the match, Ive an urgent date to catch
Get me to the concert hall on time

Pretending to be pilots in a war
Pretending to weave between the flak
No-one knows what the missions for
Blinkered horses on the track

And the light they always show to them
Is green, green, green
And the heels they always show to me
Are clean, clean, clean

Housemartins-“Get up off our knees”

Famines will be famines, banquets will be banquets
Some spend winter in a palace, some spend it in blankets
Don’t wag your fingers at them and turn to walk away
Don’t shoot someone tomorrow that you can shoot today
Time to end the praying
Listen what they’re saying

Get up off your knees
You can wag your finger till your finger’s sore
Shake your head till it shakes no more

Paupers will be paupers, bankers will be bankers
Some own pennies in a jar, some own oil tankers
What may sound like tomorrow could be ours today
There’s no more need for sorrow if we get off our knees to pray

Time to end the praying
Listen what they’re saying

Get up off your knees
You can wag your finger till your finger’s sore
Shake your head till it shakes no more

Countries will be countries, borders will be borders
Some have lost their folks at war, some have give orders
Don’t wag your fingers at them and turn to walk away
Don’t shoot someone tomorrow that you can shoot today

Time to end the praying
Listen what they’re saying

Housemartins – There is always something there to remind me

The teacher’s name was Charles
He made me feel like Jack
He thought Martin was late
Cause he sat right at the back

He thought my name was Peter
The time that I was there
I told him it was Paul
But he didn’t seem to care

Ah ah ah

Drawing moustaches and glasses
While on the ruling classes
Drawing willies on soldiers
From Berlin to Damascus

It shouts out loud
I’ve more than you, I’ve more than you
It shouts out loud
I’ve more than you, I’ve more than you

Making bombs in chemistry
And catapults in craft
He thought I must be far too
Down for this class

He even told the caretaker
I didn’t want to pass
And he agreed he’d seen me
Cutting across his grass

Ah ah ah

Would he keep all the marbles
He’d taken in that year
Would we stormtroop the staffroom
And pinch his cans of beer

It shouts out loud
I’ve more than you, I’ve more than you
It shouts out loud
I’ve more than you, I’ve more than you

There is always something there to remind me
Something that I should have left behind me
It taps you on the shoulder in a queue
It shouts across the street I’ve more than you
And there is always something there to remind me of you

It shouts out loud
I’ve more than you, I’ve more than you
It shouts out loud
I’ve more than you, I’ve more than you
It shouts out loud

Deja un comentario si te apetece

